Seasons change

A short posting re our surprise at the changing seasons. Buffers and meself this aft discussed the absurdity of ones response to seasonal changes. Why do we always seem astonished that the nights are drawing in? Unless I am mistaken, this happens annually around this time of year. Next thing you know it will start to become cold and the leaves fall off trees. Why can’t we be surprised by genuinely unexpected events rather than the predictable.
Next time I am driving the Lagonda over the moors and a large herd of wildebeest wander casually across my path, I will feel entitled to express surprise. As I retire to bed my sleeping quarters sink under water then yes I will be astonished but until then forget the whole ‘ I can’t believe how the nights are drawing in’ line.

Leave a Reply

