Publishing

I’m now in my fourth self publication. I have produced a collection of my poetry or as it is entitled – A Huddle of Poems.
The fanfare was positively deafening as was the clamber for first editions. I now know how JK Rowling must feel. Well to be fair thinly similarity we have is that we both struggled to get noticed. Well one of us still does.
I’m always slightly let down with the general air of apathy surrounding a publication. This is sentiment ruling over logic. Why would anyone be interested in my poetry book?
One of the big advantages of having a contract with a publisher is that you get publicity and your book promoted. Self publishing requires the author to take care of marketing and publicity which doesn’t always come easily to a writer. Creative people love creating but not always talking about it. This one prefers to spend his energy on characters and plot lines. These are the curses of self publication.

Leave a Reply

