Don’t please

I shouldn’t have to keep my chin up

To make you feel ok

I shouldn’t need to get on with it

To make me go away

It isn’t that I choose to be

So why do you think I do

I don’t need your approval

To be myself you see.


I’m sure things could be worse

But you’re not in my head

There’s bound to be a bright side

You obviously must know where

Why do I have to cheer up

To satisfy your charity

Those plenty more fish you see

Aren’t swimming in my sea.

I’m not happy not being happy

I’m worthless to your worth

I’m empty to your complete

I’m sadness to your smile

It’s not always the same

It’s hopefully not for long

Please don’t lose your patience

Because I’m not what you want

Leave a Reply

